Quiet Your Left Brain

Don’t you sometimes feel like your left brain won’t let your right brain get a word in? There you are, waiting for that big aHa idea and all you can think about is the logical? And with the logical comes its dear friend judgment. Both of them squelch the right brain creativity. It’s like the left brain needs to be quiet just long enough for you to have a conversation with your right brain.

I recently read a quote in The Imagineering Workout, a book by Disney Imagineers, about this challenge:

“We recognize ideas as they form in our imagination, but often for unexpected or unusual ideas, the logical and judgmental aspects of our recognition system need to be preoccupied with other duties for these ideas to be considered. This is what happens when we are driving, exercising or dreaming.”

So true! We hear our imaginative voice when we are busy doing more mundane tasks. It’s why so many people share stories of their aha moment coming to them in the car or the shower. I know I get my best ideas when doing very basic tasks like putting away dishes or cleaning out my purse. As the quote above states, my left brain is preoccupied and I am able to hear my right brain and all its ideas.

We should all have go-to duties that help us preoccupy our left brains when we need that creative juice. My favorite trick is to brush the dog. I get great ideas amidst all the dog hair.

What are your go-to duties for quieting or preoccupying your left brain? When do you get your best ideas? Share in the comments section below and help us build a handbook of tools that quiet the left brain.

One response to “Quiet Your Left Brain

  1. I so need to come to Denver! Thank you for this post. The dominant left-brain voice is a huge culprit in shooting down some of our best ideas and intuition. My Creatively Fit Program provides a system anyone can use to get their right brain “muscle” in shape, so we can CREATE the change we want to see in our world. We use scribbles, colors, and simple creative exercises to silence that left brain voice. The fun key to this–the less “artistic talent” you have, the better these exercises work! Woohoo! 🙂 Whitney

Leave a comment